Logo_LadiesLinz_2023-turkis 4c

Wildcard Challenge

THE WAY TO THE TOP!

Arabella Koller has impressively confirmed her role as favourite: The 23-year-old from Salzburg won the final of the "Young Ladies Wild Card Challenge" against 19-year-old Claudia Gasparovic from Lower Austria 6:0, 6:2 today, Sunday, at the Linz-Froschberg Tennis Centre. With this success, Koller has secured a wild card for qualifying for the WTA 500 event Upper Austria Ladies Linz 2024 (28 January to 4 February).

Arabella Koller, a protégé of former Salzburg Davis Cup player Gerald Mild at his "European Tennis Base" in Rif, qualified for the final with two victories on Saturday: First Koller defeated 16-year-old Ema Lina Picorusevic (TWR Team Donaufeld) 6:4, 6:2, then the Salzburg native, who plays for UTC Fischer Ried in the Bundesliga, won 6:2, 6:2 against 17-year-old Ava Schüller (1. Klosterneuburger TV). "Arabella is developing very well, she is training diligently, what she still lacks is the international breakthrough. She needs to be more confident, because she's at a good level in terms of her game," explained Gerald Mild ahead of the final.

His protégé fulfilled expectations and also impressed tournament director Sandra Reichel and ÖTV sports coordinator Marion Maruska. "That was a very strong performance from Arabella, I'm very happy for her," said Sandra Reichel. And Marion Maruska analysed: "Arabella deserved to win, she played a great match. I follow her career very closely, she has become tactically better and more aggressive." Maruska also revealed that she has the Salzburg player "on her radar" for Austria's Billie Jean King Cup team.

The Reichel/Maruska duo could once again be proud of the invention of the Young Ladies Wild Card Hallnge. The joint summary: "A very important event for us because we wanted to offer local talent a platform to present themselves at national and international level. We are also delighted that the Wild Card Challenge was such a great prelude to our tournament, which has been upgraded to a WTA 500 event."  

"Yes, it's great that we can organise this Wild Card Challenge in cooperation with the Austrian and Upper Austrian Tennis Associations. It is always a matter close to my heart to offer our young players this platform."

Sandra Reichel
Tournament Director

LIST OF WINNERS

2018: Mavie Austrian

2019: Emily Meyer

2020: Veronika Bokor 

2021: Mavie Austrian

2023: Veronika Bokor

2024: Arabella Koller

Logo_LadiesLinz_2023-turkis 4c

Wildcard Challenge

DER WEG NACH OBEN!

Arabella Koller hat ihre Rolle als Favoritin eindrucksvoll bestätigt: Die 23-jährige Salzburgerin hat heute, Sonntag, im Tenniszentrum Linz-Froschberg das Finale der „Young Ladies Wild-Card-Challenge“ gegen die 19-jährige Niederösterreicherin Claudia Gasparovic mit 6:0, 6:2 gewonnen. Koller hat sich mit diesem Erfolg eine Wild Card für die Qualifikation zum WTA-500-Event Upper Austria Ladies Linz 2024 (28. Jänner bis 4. Februar) gesichert.

Arabella Koller, ein Schützling des ehemaligen Salzburger Daviscupspielers Gerald Mild in dessen „European Tennis Base“ in Rif, hat sich am Samstag durch zwei Siege für das Finale qualifiziert: Erst besiegte Koller die 16-jährige Ema Lina Picorusevic (TWR Team Donaufeld) mit 6:4, 6:2, dann gewann die Salzburgerin, die in der Bundesliga für UTC Fischer Ried spielt, gegen die 17-jährige Ava Schüller (1. Klosterneuburger TV) mit 6:2, 6:2. „Arabella entwickelt sich sehr gut, sie trainiert fleißig, was ihr noch fehlt, ist der internationale Durchbruch. Sie muss sich mehr zutrauen, denn spielerisch ist sie auf einem guten Niveau“, erklärt Gerald Mild vor dem Finale.

Sein Schützling hat die Erwartungen erfüllt und auch Turnierdirektorin Sandra Reichel und ÖTV-Sportkoordinatorin Marion Maruska beeindruckt. „Das war eine sehr starke Performance von Arabella, ich freue mich sehr für sie“,  sagte Sandra Reichel. Und Marion Maruska analysierte: „Arabella hat verdient gewonnen, sie hat ein tolles Match gespielt. Ich verfolge ihre Karriere ja sehr genau, sie ist taktisch besser und aggressiver geworden.“ Maruska verriet auch, dass sie die Salzburgerin für Österreichs Billie-Jean-King-Cup-Team „auf dem Schirm“ hat.

Das Duo Reichel/Maruska durfte wiederum stolz sein auf die Erfindung der Young-Ladies-Wild-Card-Challenge. Das gemeinsame Resümee: „Ein ganz wichtiger Event für uns, weil wir den heimischen Talenten eine Plattform bieten wollten, sich auf nationaler wie internationaler Ebene zu präsentieren. Wir freuen uns auch, dass es mit der Wild-Card-Challenge so ein großartiges Vorspiel zu unserem zum WTA-500-Event aufgewerteten Turnier gegeben hat.“  

„Ja, es ist großartig, dass wir in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Österreichischen und dem Oberösterreichischen Tennisverband diese Wild-Card-Challenge durchführen können. Es ist mir stets ein Herzensanliegen, unseren jungen Spielerinnen diese Plattform zu bieten.“

Sandra Reichel
Turnierdirektorin

SIEGERINNENLISTE

2018: Mavie Österreicher

2019: Emily Meyer

2020: Veronika Bokor 

2021: Mavie Österreicher

2023: Veronika Bokor

2024: Arabella Koller