Nations Cup

"Wheelchair Nations Cup"

This will be a special highlight at the Upper Austria Ladies Linz 2024! Wheelchair tennis will be included in the programme of Austria's biggest women's tennis tournament for the third time. For the first time, however, there will be more than just a demonstration competition. Instead, a separate "Wheelchair Nations Cup" will be held on Saturday, 3 February, featuring the best wheelchair tennis players from Austria and Germany.

Led by the two team captains Odo Kada (Austria) and Niklas Höfken (Germany), the two teams will first compete in two singles matches. In the women's singles, the best Austrian wheelchair tennis player Christina Pesendorfer and the German national player Britta Wend will play against each other. In the men's singles, Austria's best wheelchair tennis player Nico Langmann and the German wheelchair tennis champion Anthony Dittmar will meet. Finally, a potentially decisive mixed doubles match will be played.

The "Wheelchair Nations Cup" will take place under the motto "The Revenge". In July 2023, the players competed against each other at the Hamburg European Open, which is also organised by tournament director Sandra Reichel and her team. Back then, Team Austria claimed victory in exciting matches. Now there is a new chance for both teams!

The matches will be played on the semi-final Saturday (3 February) on the Upper Austria Ladies Linz match courts. Come along and experience the fascination of wheelchair tennis! The inclusion event is once again being supported this year by Volkshilfe Oberösterreich. Among other things, Volkshilfe offers help and support for the elderly, children, people with disabilities, people without work opportunities and refugees.

"We are delighted that our lebensART GmbH is once again supporting and helping to organise the Inclusion Day at the Upper Austria Ladies Linz this year. After all, this day promotes the important participation of people with disabilities in social life, which our Volkshilfe colleagues work for day after day with great commitment and passion," says Jasmine Chansri, MBA, Managing Director of Volkshilfe.

Nations Cup

„Wheelchair Nations Cup“

Das wird ein besonderes Highlight beim Upper Austria Ladies Linz 2024! Bereits zum dritten Mal ist Rollstuhltennis im Programm des größten österreichischen Damentennis-Turniers vertreten. Erstmals gibt es aber nicht nur einen Demonstrationswettkampf. Vielmehr wird am Samstag, 3. Februar, ein eigener „Wheelchair Nations Cup“ mit den besten Rollstuhl-Tennisspieler:innen aus Österreich und Deutschland ausgespielt.

Angeführt von den beiden Team-Chefs Odo Kada (Österreich) und Niklas Höfken (Deutschland) messen sich die beiden Mannschaften zunächst in zwei Einzeln. Im Damen-Einzel spielen die beste österreichische Rollstuhl-Tennisspielerin Christina Pesendorfer und die deutsche Nationalspielerin Britta Wend gegeneinander. Im Herren-Einzel treffen Österreichs bester Rollstuhl-Tennisspieler Nico Langmann und der Deutsche Rollstuhltennis-Meister Anthony Dittmar aufeinander. Zum Abschluss wird noch ein möglicherweise entscheidendes Mixed-Doppel ausgespielt.

Der „Wheelchair Nations Cup“ findet unter dem Motto „Die Revanche“ statt. Im Juli 2023 traten die Spieler und Spielerinnen bei den Hamburg European Open, die ebenfalls von Turnierdirektorin Sandra Reichel und ihrem Team veranstaltet werden, schon mal gegeneinander an. Damals konnte das Team Österreich in spannenden Matches den Sieg für sich verbuchen. Jetzt gibt es für beide Teams eine neue Chance!

Die Matches werden am Halbfinal-Samstag (3. Februar) auf den Match-Courts des Upper Austria Ladies Linz ausgetragen. Kommen Sie gerne vorbei und erleben Sie die Faszination Rollstuhltennis! Das Inklusionsevent wird auch in diesem Jahr unterstützt von der Volkshilfe Oberösterreich. Die Volkshilfe bietet unter anderem Hilfe und Unterstützung für alte Menschen, Kinder, Menschen mit Behinderung, Menschen ohne Arbeitsmöglichkeit und Geflüchtete.

„Dass wir mit unserer lebensART GmbH den Inklusionstag beim Upper Austria Ladies Linz auch heuer wieder unterstützen und mitgestalten dürfen, freut uns sehr. Denn dieser Tag fördert jene so wichtige Teilhabe beeinträchtigter Menschen am gesellschaftlichen Leben, für die sich unsere Volkshilfe-Kolleg:innen Tag für Tag mit viel Engagement und Herzblut einsetzen“, sagt Mag. Jasmine Chansri, MBA, Geschäftsführerin der Volkshilfe.